Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Squadron Leader Cobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    502

    Configuring a stand alone server for BMS

    There are a couple of settings that have to be changed to ensure proper operation of a server

    1) Player Bump Time - In the atc.ini file located here C:\Falcon BMS 4.33\Data\Campaign\Save for the Stock Korea (KTO) campaign. For every theater you must refer to that atc.ini within their add-on folders. This number is 50 (in minutes) by default. Change it to some extreme number (999999). This will keep the program from removing the server flight from the program and help maintain 3d objects, AD systems operating etc

    2) Server must be in the 3d world - Create a separate package (singleton) in a base not used by human pilots. Set the take off time 20 minutes out and commit (RAMP). The aircraft will be cold and dark. Server will remain on ramp with no power.

    3) Bandwidth is IMPORTANT (Upload Speed) - Minimum of 15Mb (still conducting testing) to support 12-16 players

    4) The following ports must be forwarded to the server: BMS (2934-2935), IVC (9987-9989).

    5) Start the IVC server. Do not minimize the window. Launch falcon.
    That's all at the moment.
    Last edited by Cobra; 19-11-2015 at 03:10 PM.

  2. #2
    AEF Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Ipswich, QLD
    Posts
    15
    Thanks for that Cobra

  3. #3
    AEF Member Rolfey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Palmerston North, New Zealand
    Posts
    228
    Awesome thanks for this Cobra
    VEAO DEVELOPMENT TEAM - 3D ARTIST


  4. #4
    Squadron Leader Cobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    502
    OP updated

  5. #5
    AEF Member Glenneaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Melbourne VIC
    Posts
    147
    Worth noting applies to all servers not just trying to run dedicated, everyone has to run the same build i.e. 64bit or 32bit.

  6. #6
    AEF Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Toowoomba QLD
    Posts
    73
    More info: from a BMS developer

    P2P means peer-to-peer and CS means client-server and these terms refer to the means by which a particular player's session is connected to the rest of the game. Here's what the code is looking at to decide whether to label the connection with one or the other:
    Since the supplied portFirst and the actual port do not match, the client's NAT rerouted the connection, and the actual port may not have proper forwarding. This connection is dubious. The host can allow these clients into the game and they may require data forwarding (extra load on host) or the host can disconnect these clients.
    P2P is the desirable state. The network code is tuned for and works best with that kind of topology. A lot (but not all) of this has to do with smooth multiplayer experience by ensuring that the most latency-sensitive traffic goes via the shortest route between players (i.e. direct); think about position updates as the canonical example.

    CS is what people mean when they talk about "dubious" connections in the F4 BMS world. The code has tried to make a direct connection between a player with a "CS" label on their connection and for some reason been unable to do so. Thus, it has fallen back to sending everything via the server to all other client sessions; i.e. every position update will take two hops to reach other players instead of only one (well, with the exception of a player who's session _is_ the host that is ). The fallback _may_ work much of the time. However, if there's any question about network bandwidth or excess of latency in some of the host to client connections, then allowing "dubious" connections can mess up a network game a little or a lot depending on degree. As such, a wise host probably disables the CS/dubious connection type by setting g_bHostAllowsDubiousConnections false in the config file and telling any player who can't connect: "get a decent router with halfway decent NAT implementation or a direct internet connection!".

  7. #7
    Registered Users
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    4

  8. #8
    AEF Member Rolfey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Palmerston North, New Zealand
    Posts
    228
    Odd, 185th seem to use 32bit rather than 64bit. wonder why that is. I'm guessing we all use 64bit here.
    VEAO DEVELOPMENT TEAM - 3D ARTIST


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •